Philip Griffiths receives the Architects Board of WA Board Award

Perth heritage architect Philip Griffiths has received the Architects Board of Western Australia’s annual Board Award for outstanding contribution to the architectural profession.

On presenting the award on 30 November 2011, the chairman of the Architects Board of Western Australia, Bruce Callow, said “Philip’s active participation in the Heritage Council and in working with the communities involved with projects has raised the public awareness of heritage, its value to the community, to the architectural environment and to the profession.”

As a specialist in heritage architecture, Griffiths is responsible for work at Fremantle Prison (Western Australia’s only World Heritage cultural site), the revitalization of the William Square precinct in Northbridge and conservation and rejuvenation projects on Rottnest Island.

At the other end of the scale, Griffiths has embraced small regional projects in country towns, on farms and on station buildings.

Related topics

More news

See all
The revitalization of Bendigo TAFE’s Bendigo city campus, designed by Architectus and Six Degrees Architects includes a new building on Hargreaves Street that will also create a new entry to the campus. Construction begins on Bendigo TAFE redevelopment

Construction is underway on a $60 million project to revitalize Bendigo TAFE’s Bendigo City campus designed by Architectus and Six Degrees.

Malop Street Green Spine by Outlines Landscape Architecture ‘Retrograde, appalling waste’: AILA National Award-winning project to be trashed

A Victorian council has decided to partially remove an award-winning green spine project less than two years after its completion.

Melbourne’s West Gate Bridge. Infrastructure priorities in the face of bushfires, floods and droughts

Infrastructure Australia has outlined a list of priority infrastructure projects critical to rebuilding communities following natural disasters.

55 Southbank Boulevard by Bates Smart. Tallest timber adaptive reuse building set to open

Bates Smart used CLT to create a 10 storey addition to an existing building that would have only supported an additional six storeys.

Most read

Latest on site