Endorsed by

2010 AILA National Landscape Architecture Award: Design

Pioneer Park by Gamble McKinnon Green

Client: Townsville City Council

Jury comment

The jury was pleased with the manner in which this project presented a “distinctively Townsville” approach and represented a positive direction for Townsville in redeveloping this precinct, eschewing the temptation to redevelop this unique top-end city in a generic urban style.

Beautiful integration of existing mature trees and endemic plants gives the project good environmental credentials as well as good social benefits, further enriched with the integration of a local arts program. The park’s development responds to the recreation needs of this city and, importantly, provides public access to water for swimming, at no charge.

For further coverage see Landscape Architecture Australia 116, November 2007.



Published online: 1 Nov 2010
Images: Scott Burrows


Landscape Architecture Australia, November 2010

Related topics

More award

See all
Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the 2019 National Prizes at the National Architecture Conference in Melbourne.

Gen–Y House, part of White Gum Valley in Perth. The project, designed by David Barr Architects, is one of the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living’s sixteen Living Labs. 2019 National Prizes: Leadership in Sustainability Prize

The 2019 Leadership in Sustainability Prize is awarded to the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living.

Professor Helen Lochhead. 2019 National Prizes: Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize

The 2019 Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize is awarded to Helen Lochhead.

Sobi Slingsby. 2019 National Prizes: BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize

Sobi Slingsby is awarded the BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize.

Most read

Latest on site