Endorsed by

Reece Bathroom Innovation Award 2013

An innovation in integrated air extraction by Melbourne designer Chris Connell won the Professional category while sustainable showering technology secured the Student category title for University of South Australia final year student Amanda Paukner. The 2013 Reece Bathroom Innovation Award was announced on 17 August 2013. Now in its eighth year, the Award challenges design professionals and students to develop an original bathroom product that incorporates technology in one of three categories – Destination Space, Sustainable Space and Independent Space.

Professional Award
Chris Connell, Wind Rain Fire shower head.

Chris Connell, Wind Rain Fire shower head.

Wind Rain Fire – Chris Connell (Chris Connell Design). An integrated suite comprising a combined overhead showerhead and extractor fan, a touch-sensitive illuminated mixer panel (to control temperature and pressure), a heated towel rail with in-built fan, and a shower floor drain. An in-built fan incorporated into the towel rail heating element helps dry and warm towels while the flush-mounted combined overhead shower and extraction fan minimizes the number of units that need to be installed in the ceiling as well as the number of operating switches in the bathroom. The shower drain, designed to mirror the showerhead design, ties together the visual aesthetic of the suite while also maximizing water drainage. Connell receives $20,000 for his multi-dimensional shower innovation.

Student Award
Amanda Paukner, At the Touch.

Amanda Paukner, At the Touch.

At the Touch – Amanda Paukner (University of South Australia). A touch screen shower panel that shows real-time water usage in litres or dollar figures. The panel allows users to control water temperature and pressure, and set alarms and shower cut-offs. Paukner receives a $10,000 prize, with $5,000 for the Univeristy of South Australia.

The judging panel for 2013 included Roberto Palomba (Palomba Serafini), Stuart Constantine (Core77, Coroflot), Josep Congost (Roca), Piet Billekens (Nobili), Shaynna Blaze (The Block, Blank Canvas Design), Greg Natale (Greg Natale Design), Owen Lynch (Indesign Live) and Justin Wagemakers (Blue Sky Design Group, two-time BIA winner).

Related topics

More award

See all
Devonport Living City Stage 1 by Lyons with Maddison Architects and Birrelli. 2019 Tasmanian Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 Tasmanian Architecture Awards.

Maitland Riverlink by Chrofi with McGregor Coxall. 2019 NSW Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 NSW Architecture Awards.

Place de la Brèche, Niort (France) by Studio Milou. 2019 International Chapter Architecture Awards

The work of Australian architects around the world has been honoured at the Australian Institute of Architects’ 2019 International Chapter Awards.

University of South Australia Cancer Research Institute by Swanbury Penglase with BVN. 2019 SA Architecture Awards

The 2019 South Australian Architecture Awards were announced in Adelaide on 29 June.