Regional Architecture Conference 2018 to ‘rethink’ architecture in an evolving context

The Australian Institute of Architects NSW Country Division’s 2018 NSW Regional Conference will gather together some of Australia’s most innovative architects together in the town of Lovedale, near Newcastle in the Hunter Valley.

Themed “Rethink, Recalibrate, Regenerate: Architecture in an evolving context,” the conference will examine the ways shifting economic and technological forces are shaping architecture, and the opportunities they have for regional architecture.

The program of all-Australian speakers, curated by Noel Thomson of Noel Thomson Architecture and Cameron Anderson of Cameron Anderson Architects, features architects working across a wide range of projects who are harnessing new technologies in different ways.

Thomson said the conference would “try to explore what this means for traditional office environments and for traditional working relationships in the office and engagement with clients, consultants and builders.”

The conference will coincide with the announcement of the winners of the 2018 NSW Country Division Award winners.

The refurbished former police stables by Kerstin Thompson Architects.

The refurbished former police stables by Kerstin Thompson Architects.

Image: Trevor Mein

Speakers include Kerstin Thomson, of Kerstin Thomson Architects, whose recently completed transformation of a former police stable into an arts and music school for the Victorian College of the Arts shortlisted in the 2018 National Architecture Awards.

Also on the bill are the four directors of Archier – Chris Gilbert, Chris Haddad, Josh Fitzgerald and Jon Kaitler – an emerging practice that has won a number of accolades for its residential and commercial work, including a National Award for its Sawmill House in 2015.

From Tasmania, Matthew Hinds and Poppy Taylor of Taylor and Hinds will share a body of work that sensitively engages with any given site’s environmental and historical context. The practice won a swag of accolades the 2018 Tasmanian Architecture Awards. Its krakani lumi and luwa projects designed with the Aboriginal Land Council of Tasmania the Colin Philp Award for Commercial Architecture and the Peter Willmott Award for Small Project Architecture and the Roy Sharrington Award for Heritage Architecture. Matthew Hinds and Poppy Taylor have each individually been awarded the Emerging Architect Prize from the Tasmanian chapter.

The NSW Regional Architecture Conference takes place from 2 to 4 October.

The complete list of speakers below:

Kerstin Thompson – Kerstin Thompson Architects

Matthew Hinds and Poppy Taylor – Taylor and Hinds

Chris Gilbert, Chris Haddad, Jon Kaitler, Josh FitzGerald – Archier

Brent Dunn and Katharina Hendel – Takt/Joint Modular

Ashley Dunn and Lee Hillam – Dunn and Hillam

Ben Edwards – Studio Edwards

Bill McCorkell – Archiblox

Harley Graham – Harley Graham Architects

Emma Guthrey – The University of Newcastle, Herd Architects

Dr Chris Tucker – The University of Newcastle, Herd Architects

For more information, go here.

More news

See all
The Victoria Cross integrated station development. North Sydney integrated station development finalized

Final designs have been unveiled for the proposed Victoria Cross station development, which includes a 42-storey office tower and a new retail laneway.

A design option for the CIT Woden campus. Early designs for new Canberra university campus released

The ACT government has released early indicative concept designs for a major university campus and bus interchange for Woden in Canberra.

The appointed government will consider proposals that could support WA's post-pandemic economic recovery. WA on the lookout for government architect with a vision for a 'connected, vibrant' state

Geoff Warn, who served as government architect from 2013, concluded his term in February 2020.

Footscray Psychiatric Centre designed by the Victorian Public Works Department, 1972–77. ‘Foreboding’ brutalist hospital added to Victorian Heritage Register

The former Footscray Psychiatric Centre has been given state heritage listing.

Most read

Latest on site