Robin Boyd Foundation introduces the Boyd Circle

The Robin Boyd Foundation is introducing a new initiative to help raise funds for the not-for-profit organization.

The Boyd Circle is a group of award-winning architects who are charged with curating a new program of talks, open days, interactive events, inclusive discussions and encouraging public participation in design and architecture.

The 11 inaugural members are: Astrid Jenkins and Hamish Lyon (NH Architecture), Mauro Barraco and Louise Wright (Barraco and Wright Architects), Mel Bright (Make Architecture), Matt Gibson (Matt Gibson Architecture and Design), Patrick Kennedy and Rachel Nolan (Kennedy Nolan), Rob McBride and Debbie Ryan (McBride Charles Ryan) and John Wardle (John Wardle Architects).

“The Boyd Circle aims to secure the future of Boyd’s Walsh Street house – this is important because of its superlative heritage significance, but more vitally because it is a building which is so intensely inventive, that it is capable of inspiring architects and others into the future,” said Patrick Kennedy, director of Kennedy Nolan Architects and Boyd Circle leader.

“As a practice and individually we are conscious of the remarkable legacy of Robin Boyd, particularly in Melbourne, but also in Australia generally. Boyd was a great communicator and actively built an understanding of design, and culture more broadly in Australia. We feel the responsibility of helping to maintain this tradition and are conscious of the privilege in being able to do this through the Boyd Circle.”

The Robin Boyd Foundation is a not-for-profit organization managed by a board and supported by more than 100 volunteers. Its aim is to continue the legacy of the late Robin Boyd in order to advance Australian design and architecture to meet the challenges of contemporary society.

The foundation purchased its headquarters, Robin Boyd’s own Walsh Street House, built in 1958, from the Boyd family in 2005. The purchase was funded 100 percent by a mortgage.

The activities of the Boyd Circle will also help raise funds to pay out the mortgage.

The Robin Boyd Foundation will also welcome applications to join the Boyd Circle from practices that have won architecture awards from the Australian Institute of Architects.

“The Boyd Circle was initiated to inspire the architecture and design community to actively support the Robin Boyd Foundation,” says Lucy Clemenger, director of Lucy Clemenger Architects and member of the Robin Boyd Foundation Board.

“The Boyd Circle provides a platform for a select group of design leaders to further promote the core values of the foundation to the public. It offers a unique opportunity for the architecture community to give invaluable assistance to help the foundation deliver a broad range of educational events throughout the year.

“Boyd Circle members contribute a tax-deductible donation per annum to be part of the program, and with these generous contributions help the foundation to lead the discussion on why good design matters.”

More news

See all
251 Wickham Street by Bureau Proberts. ‘A new type of office building’ for Brisbane's Fortitude Valley

Bureau Proberts’s design for a 28-storey Brisbane tower is intended to provide a “striking alternative” to the surrounding commercial buildings of the CBD and the …

Perth Concert Hall by Howlett and Bailey Architects. ‘Beautifully poured’ brutalist Perth concert hall to be redeveloped

The Western Australian government has pledged $30 million to redevelop the brutalist Perth Concert Hall.

South West TAFE Warrnambool learning and library hub, designed by Kosloff Architecture. ‘An iconic building’ proposed for regional Victorian town

Kosloff Architecture has designed multi-storey, highly transparent learning facility for the south-west Victorian town of Warrnambool.

A grand stair inside 5 Parramatta Square by Manuelle Gautrand Architecture with  Designinc and Lacoste and Stevenson. New vision of Parramatta Square civic hub

5 Parramatta is designed by French practice Manuelle Gautrand Architecture with Designinc and Lacoste and Stevenson

Most read

Latest on site