Seven stations confirmed for Sydney Metro West

The NSW government has outlined its plans for the next stage of its Sydney Metro urban railway project, naming seven confirmed locations for stations on the Metro West line.

The stations will be built at Westmead, Parramatta, Sydney Olympic Park, North Strathfield, Burwood North, Five Dock and the Bays Precinct.

Seven stations confirmed for Sydney Metro West

Image: Sydney Metro

The state is also investigating a further two possible station locations, at Pyrmont and Rydalmere. A new metro station will also be built in the CBD at an as-yet unconfirmed location.

The Metro West line is intended to relieve stress on the existing Sydney rail network. It is the third stage of the greater Sydney Metro project that has been confirmed.

The Metro Northwest line, which came replete with stations, parks and plazas designed by Hassell, opened in June.

The second stage of the Sydney Metro project involves the extension of the line under Sydney Harbour, through the CBD and on to Bankstown. Six stations on that line will be designed by Foster and Partners and Architectus, while the Central Station upgrade will be designed by Woods Bagot and John McAslan and Partners.

Contracts for the delivery of the Metro West line have not yet been signed, with the government beginning a search for a contractor to deliver tunnelling services on 22 October.

Related topics

More news

See all
The 2019 Summer Place Pavilion by Chrofi. Chrofi’s ‘structurally implausible’ MAMA pavilion underway

The construction of the second instalment of the Murray Art Museum Albury’s (MAMA) annual experimental architecture project, designed by Chrofi, is underway in Albury’s QEII …

Springhill House by Lovell Burton, Architeam Medal winner. Rural house, tiny apartment win 2019 Architeam awards

The Architeam Awads program celebrates the best work from small, medium and emerging practices.

Victorian Growth Areas Schools Project by Architectus and K2LD. Victoria's best school designs awarded

Architects and principal designers of Victorian public schools have been recognized in the 2019 Victorian School Design Awards.

The 2019 MPavilion by Glenn Murcutt. ‘The rational and the poetic’: Murcutt’s MPavilion opens

Pritzker Prize laureate Glenn Murcutt’s first public project in central Melbourne was inspired by the architect’s memory of sheltering from the hot Mexican sun under …

Most read

Latest on site