Shepparton Art Museum shortlist announced

Click to enlarge
The new Shepparton Art Museum will be sited adjacent to Victoria Park Lake (pictured).

The new Shepparton Art Museum will be sited adjacent to Victoria Park Lake (pictured). Image: Greater Shepparton City Council

The Greater Shepparton City Council has announced the five shortlisted practices competing to design the $34.5-million new Shepparton Art Museum (SAM).

The shortlisted practices are:

  • Denton Corker Marshall
  • John Wardle Architects
  • Kerstin Thompson Architects
  • Lyons
  • MvS Architects

In July 2016, the Greater Shepparton City Council called for expressions of interest for a two-stage competition to design the new art gallery for the regional Victorian town of Shepparton, located 190 kilometres north of Melbourne.

The new art gallery, to be located on a site adjacent to Victoria Park Lake and the Goulburn Valley Highway, will replace the existing art gallery in Welsford Street.

The competition attracted 88 entrants. A seven-member jury, made up of professionals from the arts, architecture/design, academia, Indigenous architecture and related industries, assessed the entries based on three key criteria:

  • design approach (50 percent) – the quality and strength of the design teams’ ideas, approach and strategy
  • capacity (30 percent) – the teams’ ability to deliver architecture and landscape design of a similar scale
  • experience (20 percent) – the teams’ skills, experience and qualifications.

Each shortlisted practice will receive a $7,000 honorarium to further develop its designs. The shortlisted design concepts will go on public exhibition from 16 January to 17 February 2017.

The winning entry, which will be awarded a $10,000 prize, will be announced on 27 April 2017.

The $34.5-million project is funded by local, state and federal governments, each of which has committed $10 million. The remaining $4.5 million is being contributed by the SAM Foundation.

More news

Most read