Shortlist announced: NGV’s 2016 Architecture Commission

Click to enlarge
The National Gallery of Victoria's 2015 Architecture Commission designed by John Wardle Architects.

The National Gallery of Victoria’s 2015 Architecture Commission designed by John Wardle Architects. Image: John Gollings

1 of 7
Vivian Mitsogianni of M@Studio.

Vivian Mitsogianni of M@Studio. Image: Courtesy NGV

2 of 7
Dean Boothroyd of M@Studio.

Dean Boothroyd of M@Studio. Image: Courtesy NGV

3 of 7
March Studio.

March Studio. Image: Courtesy NGV

4 of 7
Nervegna Reed Architecture.

Nervegna Reed Architecture. Image: Courtesy NGV

5 of 7
Other Architects.

Other Architects.

6 of 7
Thomas Winwood Architecture.

Thomas Winwood Architecture. Image: Courtesy NGV

7 of 7

The National Gallery of Victoria (NGV) has announced the shortlisted practices in the Australia-wide competition to design the 2016 Architecture Commission.

From 93 entries, the jury has selected five practices that will now proceed to stage two of the competition.

The shortlisted practices are:

  • M@Studio (Melbourne)
  • March Studio (Melbourne)
  • Nervegna Reed Architecture (Melbourne)
  • Other Architects/Otherothers (Sydney)
  • Thomas Winwood Architecture (Melbourne)

A further four practices received commendations from the jury:

  • Johan Hermijanto (Melbourne)
  • Kevin O’Brien Architects (Brisbane)
  • Studio Roland Snooks (Melbourne)
  • Zilka Studio (Melbourne)

 The jury noted that while the shortlisted submissions were rich and varied, they all “demonstrated playfulness and invention, generously inviting public interaction.”

Many of the proposals submitted were characterized by an active engagement with audiences, which invites visitor participation, rather than a treatment of architecture “as object.”

The jury further noted the submissions proposed the innovative use of recycled or repurposed standard materials as well as innovative construction techniques, which can potentially lead to collaborations with designers from other disciplines including fashion, landscape architecture, product design and construction engineering.

Shortlisted practices will proceed to stage two which will be judged in April 2016, when a winner will be announced. The winning design will be constructed in October 2016.

The design competition follows on from the inaugural 2015 Architecture Commission by John Wardle Architects, which saw a temporary arching steel grid shell lined with recycled plastic “petals” built in the garden.

The now annual contest invites Australian architects and designers to develop a temporary architectural work for the Grollo Equiset Garden at NGV International.

The John Wardle Architects-designed temporary structure is on exhibition at the NGV until 1 May 2016.

The jury is comprised of Corbett Lyon (Lyons Architects and NGV Trustee, chair) Rachel Neeson (Neeson Murcutt Architects), Emma Williamson (CODA) and Fleur Watson (RMIT Design Hub).

More news

Most read