Endorsed by

Shortlist revealed: 2017 Eat Drink Design Awards

From a pool of 156 entries, 94 projects have been shortlisted for the 2017 Eat Drink Design Awards.

The annual Eat Drink Design Awards celebrate excellence and innovation in the design of hospitality venues of all scales and types, retail environments for the sale of food and beverages and visual identities for both.

“From coffee kiosks and twelve-seat restaurants to takeaway shops and food courts, this year’s Eat Drink Design Awards shortlist reveals the exceptional quality and variety of design in Australia and New Zealand’s hospitality scene,” says jury chairperson Cassie Hansen.

The entries were submitted across six categories: Best Bar Design, Best Restaurant Design, Best Cafe Design, Best Installation Design, Best Retail Design and Best Identity Design. From this pool, the jury has shortlisted the best projects from across Australia and New Zealand. Bringing together the expertise and experience of the design and hospitality communities, the judging panel for 2017 comprised Ingrid Richards, co-founder of Richards & Spence Architects; Nat Cheshire, director of Cheshire Architects; Vanessa Crichton, general manager of Rockpool Group; Ross Lusted, chef and owner of The Bridge Room; and Cassie Hansen, editor of Artichoke.

2017 Eat Drink Design Awards shortlist

Best Bar Design

Best Restaurant Design

Best Cafe Design

Best Installation Design

Best Retail Design

Best Identity Design

The winners will be announced Tuesday 14 November at the official awards ceremony held at The Arts Centre in Melbourne, and subsequently published online on Wednesday 15 November. The winners from each award category will receive a cash prize of $1,500. Further to this, the jury will select one iconic hospitality venue from Australia or New Zealand to enter the Eat Drink Design Awards Hall of Fame. Venues considered for this accolade have achieved a level of cultural significance as well as demonstrating longevity in an industry often categorised as transient.

The 2017 Eat Drink Design Awards are organized by Architecture Media and supported by principal partner Taubmans; major partners Planned Cover and Shadowfax Wines; and supporting partners Tait, Stellar Works, MAP Furniture, Schiavello and Latitude.

Related topics

More award

See all
Devonport Living City Stage 1 by Lyons with Maddison Architects and Birrelli. 2019 Tasmanian Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 Tasmanian Architecture Awards.

Maitland Riverlink by Chrofi with McGregor Coxall. 2019 NSW Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 NSW Architecture Awards.

Place de la Brèche, Niort (France) by Studio Milou. 2019 International Chapter Architecture Awards

The work of Australian architects around the world has been honoured at the Australian Institute of Architects’ 2019 International Chapter Awards.

University of South Australia Cancer Research Institute by Swanbury Penglase with BVN. 2019 SA Architecture Awards

The 2019 South Australian Architecture Awards were announced in Adelaide on 29 June.

Most read

Latest on site