Shortlist revealed: 2018 Australian Interior Design Awards

The shortlist for the 15th annual Australian Interior Design Awards has been announced. In 2018, 623 entries by Australian designers were received, which is a 17 percent increase from 2017, with six categories receiving a record breaking number of entries.

The entries included projects from around the country and Asia, Africa, the Middle East and Europe.

In all, 199 projects have been shortlisted across the seven primary categories.

The Australian Interior Design Awards, a partnership between the Design Institute of Australia and Architecture Media’s Artichoke magazine, is a leading awards program that recognizes and celebrates interior design excellence in the categories of Retail Design, Hospitality Design, Workplace Design, Public Design, Installation Design, Residential Design and Residential Decoration.

Winners of these categories will be announced at a gala dinner event on Friday 25 May 2018 at the Hyatt Regency in Sydney, along with recipients of other awards including the Premier Award for Australian Interior Design, Sustainability Advancement Award, Best of State Awards for Commercial Design and Residential Design, the Emerging Interior Design Practice Award, Best International Design and the Award for Interior Design Impact.

The 2018 jury for the Awards for Australian Interior Design are: Dave Bickmore (Studio Gram, SA), Elizabeth Carpenter (FJMT Studio, NSW), Sonia Simpfendorfer (Nexus Designs, Vic), Hanna Richardson (Zwei, Vic), Mark Simpson (DesignOffice, Vic), Donna Wheatley (WMK, NSW), Tracey Wiles (Make, NSW), Kieran Wong (Cox Architecture, WA).

And the shortlisted projects are:

Hospitality Design

Installation Design

Public Design

Retail Design

Residential Design

Residential Decoration

Workplace Design

The shortlist can also be viewed on the Australian Interior Design Awards website.

Australian Interior Design Awards thanks its sponsors: Dulux Australia, Forbo Flooring Systems, Space Furniture, Smeg, The Laminex Group, Bespoke Careers, Brintons, and Easycraft with Denfair as jury host.

Related topics

More award

See all
Blacksmith Lake Mulwala by The Stella Collective. Winners revealed: 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards

The winners of the 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards were announced at a ceremony in Melbourne on 12 November.

Cumulus Inc. by Pascale Gomes-McNabb. 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards: Hall of Fame

Cumulus Inc. by Pascale Gomes-McNabb.

The Magic Box by Liminal Objects with Van Tuil. 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards: Best Installation Design

The Magic Box by Liminal Objects with Van Tuil.

Most read

Latest on site