Shortlist revealed: 2018 Eat Drink Design Awards

From a pool of 156 entries, 90 projects have been shortlisted for the 2018 Eat Drink Design Awards.

The annual Eat Drink Design Awards celebrate excellence and innovation in the design of hospitality venues of all scales and types, retail environments for the sale of food and beverages and visual identities for both.

“This year, there is a consensus among the jury that Australasian hospitality design is some of the best in the world, if not the best. Other countries are certainly looking to what Australia is doing in hospitality design and this shortlist is evidence of how dynamic and progressive Australia and New Zealand designers are,” said Cassie Hansen, Eat Drink Design Awards jury chairperson and editor of Artichoke magazine.

“Entrants from across the region ranged from sprawling, luxurious hotels, to tiny bars situated below offices. It doesn’t matter how much money is behind a project, or the scale – the Awards reward conceptual ambition and execution of good design.”

In 2018, a new category, Best Hotel Design was added to the existing six categories: Best Bar Design, Best Restaurant Design, Best Cafe Design, Best Installation Design, Best Retail Design and Best Identity Design. From this pool, the jury has shortlisted the best projects from across Australia and New Zealand. Bringing together the expertise and experience of the design and hospitality communities, the judging panel for 2018 comprises Simon Kardachi (restauranteur), George Livissianis (founder, George Livissianis), Fabio Ongarato (founder, Fabio Ongarato Design), Dani Valent (food writer and cook), and Cassie Hansen (editor, Artichoke magazine).

2018 Eat Drink Design Awards shortlist

Best Bar Design

Best Restaurant Design

Best Cafe Design

Best Installation Design

Best Retail Design

Best Hotel Design

Best Identity Design

The winners will be announced Tuesday 13 November at the official awards ceremony held at Luminare in South Melbourne, and subsequently published online on Wednesday 14 November. The winners from each award category will receive a cash prize of $1,500. Further to this, the jury will select one iconic hospitality venue from Australia or New Zealand to enter the Eat Drink Design Awards Hall of Fame. Venues considered for this accolade have achieved a level of cultural significance as well as demonstrating longevity in an industry often categorized as transient.

The 2018 Eat Drink Design Awards are organized by Architecture Media and supported by major partner Shadowfax Wines; supporting partners Euro Cave, Laminex, Latitude, Ownworld, Planned Cover, Roca, Schiavello, Tait; and event partners Four Pillars and Sample.

More award

See all
Will and Co by Alexander and Co. Shortlist revealed: 2020 Australian Interior Design Awards

The shortlist for the 17th annual Australian Interior Design Awards has been announced.

Avli by Tashas by B and S Studio. 2020 AIDA Shortlist: Hospitality Design

In the Hospitality Design category of the 2020 Australian Interior Design Awards 45 projects have been shortlisted.

17 Spring Street by Bates Smart. 2020 AIDA Shortlist: Installation Design

Installation Design shortlist for the 2020 Australian Interior Design Awards.

Adelaide Botanic High School by Cox Architecture and DesignInc. 2020 AIDA Shortlist: Public Design

Public Design shortlist for the 2020 Australian Interior Design Awards.

Most read

Latest on site