Shortlist revealed: 2018 Houses Awards

The Houses Awards celebrates Australia’s best residential projects in nine categories. Now in its eighth year, the program has become one of the country’s most sought-after accolades, with 477 entries submitted in 2018 – six percent more than the previous year.

This year, a total of 176 entries and 10 emerging architecture practices were shortlisted. “The shortlisted homes in this year’s Houses Awards reveal the high calibre of contemporary Australian residential architecture,” said Katelin Butler, editor of Houses magazine and Houses Awards jury chair. “It’s great to see our talented architects and designers experimenting and challenging the status quo, resulting in a series of surprising and delightful architectural moments.”

The awards will be presented in Sydney at the Ivy Ballroom on Friday 27 July, following the 2018 Housing Futures symposium. Each category attracts a cash prize of $1,000. The awards will culminate in the announcement of Australian House of the Year, the winner of which will receive $5,000.

2018 Houses Awards shortlist

New House Under 200 m2

New House Over 200 m2

House Alteration and Addition Under 200 m2

House Alteration and Addition Over 200 m2

Apartment or Unit

Garden or Landscape

House in a Heritage Context


Emerging Architecture Practice

On the jury are: Kerry Clare (director, Clare Design), Albert Mo (director, Architects EAT), Jenny Officer (director, Officer Woods Architects), Stuart Vokes (director, Vokes and Peters) and Katelin Butler (editor, Houses magazine). Advice for the House in a Heritage Context category was provided by Peter Williams (founding director, Williams Boag Architects) on behalf of the Heritage Councils of Victoria and New South Wales.

See the full image galleries for shortlisted projects here.

The Houses Awards is presented by Architecture Media and supported by Cult, Artedomus, Asko, Blum, Haymes Paint, the Heritage Councils of Victoria and New South Wales, Maximum, Sussex, Think Brick and Tractile.

More award

See all
Bendigo Hospital Project by Oculus with Paul Thompson 2019 National Landscape Architecture Awards announced

The Australian Institute of Landscape Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 National Landscape Architecture Awards.

Cloud Cottage by Takt Studio. 2019 NSW Country Division Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has revealed the winners of the 2019 edition of the NSW Country Division Awards.

Devonport Living City Stage 1 by Lyons with Maddison Architects and Birrelli. Shortlist revealed: 2019 National Architecture Awards

Buildings that demonstrate the value of architecture through public benefit and commitments to social and environmental sustainability make up the shortlist of the 2019 National …

Manly Greenhouse by Luchetti Krelle. Shortlist revealed: 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards

Ninety-four entries have been shortlisted in the 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards.

Most read

Latest on site