Shortlist revealed: 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards

Australia and New Zealand’s hospitality scene is looking remarkable and diverse as ever with 94 entries shortlisted in the 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards.

The annual Eat Drink Design Awards celebrate excellence and innovation in the design of hospitality venues of all scales and types, as well as retail environments for the sale of food and beverages and their visual identities.

<!— /5912001/AAU_AU_MR_side_300x250 —> <div id=’div-gpt-ad-1490926265173-2-mob’> <script> googletag.cmd.push(function() { // googletag.pubads().refresh([gptRespAdSlots[0]]); googletag.display(‘div-gpt-ad-1490926265173-2-mob’); }); </script> </div>

“This shortlist is a survey of the exceptional quality and diversity in the design of our region’s hospitality industry,” said Cassie Hansen, jury chair and editor of Artichoke magazine.

The jury also noted the 2019 entries where characterized by use of applied materials, textured and a shift towards brighter spaces flooded with natural light.

“We saw a lot of 1970s Italian-style design this year – arches, circles and terrazzo,” said the jury. “It has influences of mid-century design but also of the elegant luxury of Italian villas.”

2019 Eat Drink Design Awards shortlist

Best Bar Design

Best Restaurant Design

Best Cafe Design

Best Installation Design

Best Retail Design

Best Hotel Design

Best Identity Design

The winners will be announced on Tuesday 12 November at a ceremony to be held at Metropolis in Melbourne’s Southbank, and subsequently published online on Wednesday 13 November. The winners from each award category will receive a cash prize of $1,500. For tickets to the awards presentation, click here.

The jury will select one iconic hospitality venue from Australia or New Zealand to be inducted into the Eat Drink Design Awards Hall of Fame. Venues considered for this accolade have achieved a level of cultural significance as well as demonstrating longevity in an industry often categorized as transient.

<!— /5912001/AAU_AU_MR2_side_300x250 —> <div id=’div-gpt-ad-1490926265173-3-mob’> <script> googletag.cmd.push(function() { // googletag.pubads().refresh([gptRespAdSlots[1]]); googletag.display(‘div-gpt-ad-1490926265173-3-mob’); }); </script> </div>

The 2019 jury comprises Besha Rodell (restaurant critic for the New York Times’ Australia bureau), Nathan Toleman (restauranteur, CEO and founder of the Mulberry Group), Graham Charbonneau (co-founder of Studio Gram), Phillip Schemnitz (architect of the 2018 Hall of Fame inductee Cookie), and Cassie Hansen (editor of Artichoke magazine).

The 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards are organized by Architecture Media and supported by major partner Chandon Australia; supporting partners Latitude, Ownworld and Roca; and event partner Four Pillars Gin.

Related topics

More award

See all
Blacksmith Lake Mulwala by The Stella Collective. Winners revealed: 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards

The winners of the 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards were announced at a ceremony in Melbourne on 12 November.

Cumulus Inc. by Pascale Gomes-McNabb. 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards: Hall of Fame

Cumulus Inc. by Pascale Gomes-McNabb.

The Magic Box by Liminal Objects with Van Tuil. 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards: Best Installation Design

The Magic Box by Liminal Objects with Van Tuil.

Most read

Latest on site