Endorsed by

Shortlist revealed: 2019 Houses Awards

The Houses Awards celebrates Australia’s best residential projects. Now in its ninth year, the program has become one of the country’s most sought-after accolades, with 502 entries submitted in 2019 – five percent more than the previous year.

This year, a total of 181 entries and five emerging architecture practices were shortlisted across nine categories. “The jury was impressed by the emphasis on place and space making, rather than architecture that is typologically or formally driven,” said Katelin Butler, jury chair and editorial director of Architecture Media. “The standout homes are those that are connected with the people who live in them and consider how the spaces might influence the inhabitants’ experience of day-to-day life. Many of the shortlisted projects are acutely sensitive to site and context, are conceptually legible and display an honesty of material expression.”

The awards will be presented in Melbourne at the Plaza Ballroom on Friday 26 July, following the 2019 Housing Futures conference. Each category attracts a cash prize of $1,000. The awards will culminate in the announcement of Australian House of the Year, the winner of which will receive $5,000.

2019 Houses Awards shortlist

New House Over 200 m2

New House Under 200 m2

House Alteration and Addition Over 200 m2

House Alteration and Addition Under 200 m2

Apartment or Unit

Garden or Landscape

House in a Heritage Context


Emerging Architecture Practice

On the 2019 jury are: Lindy Atkin (co-director, Bark Architects), John Choi (partner, Chrofi), Luigi Rosselli (director, Luigi Rosselli Architects), Rachel Nolan (principal, Kennedy Nolan) and Katelin Butler (editorial director, Architecture Media), with sustainability adviser Dominique Hes (director, Place Agency) and architectural advice in House in a Heritage Context category provided by Bruce Trethowan (director, Trethowan Architecture).

See the full image galleries for shortlisted projects here.

The Houses Awards is presented by Architecture Media and supported by Cult, Artedomus, Asko, Blum, Haymes Paint, the Heritage Councils of Victoria and New South Wales, Maximum, PGH Bricks, Sussex, and Tractile.

More award

See all
Devonport Living City Stage 1 by Lyons with Maddison Architects and Birrelli. 2019 Tasmanian Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 Tasmanian Architecture Awards.

Maitland Riverlink by Chrofi with McGregor Coxall. 2019 NSW Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 NSW Architecture Awards.

Place de la Brèche, Niort (France) by Studio Milou. 2019 International Chapter Architecture Awards

The work of Australian architects around the world has been honoured at the Australian Institute of Architects’ 2019 International Chapter Awards.

University of South Australia Cancer Research Institute by Swanbury Penglase with BVN. 2019 SA Architecture Awards

The 2019 South Australian Architecture Awards were announced in Adelaide on 29 June.