Shortlist revealed: 2020 Houses Awards

Celebrating its first decade, the Houses Awards is one of Australia’s most higly regarded awards programs, which recognizes the best in residential architecture.

In 2020, a total of 159 entries and three emerging architecture practices were shortlisted across nine categories.

Jury chair and editorial director of Architecture Media, Katelin Butler, said, “This year’s jury was acutely aware of the broader context of what is happening in the world today – the current pandemic, our climate emergency and economic downturn. How do these challenges affect the way we design or should design in the future?

“The standout homes were the ones that show the ways that residential architecture can contribute to the broader context of its streetscape and local suburb, and how design interventions can build community and neighbourhood. With density increasing in our Australian cities and suburbs, it’s important to think about connections that expand the experience of a dwelling beyond its technical boundaries and how to navigate the balance between public and private space.”

The 2020 jury also includes: Barrie Marshall (founding partner, Denton Corker Marshall), James Russell (principal, James Russell Architect), Poppy Taylor (founding partner, Taylor and Hinds), Hannah Tribe (principal, Tribe Studio Architects), with sustainability adviser Peter Steele (head of energy services, Green Sync) and architectural advice in House in a Heritage Context category provided by Helen Lardner (director, HLCD).

Winners and commendations will be announced on Friday 31 July. Each category attracts a cash prize of $1,000. The awards will culminate in the announcement of Australian House of the Year, the winner of which will receive $5,000.

2020 Houses Awards shortlist

New House Over 200 m2

New House Under 200 m2

House Alteration and Addition Over 200 m2

House Alteration and Addition Under 200 m2

Apartment or Unit

Garden or Landscape

House in a Heritage Context


Emerging Architecture Practice

See the full image galleries for shortlisted projects here.

The Houses Awards is presented by Architecture Media and supported by Cult, Allegion, Artedomus, Blum, Bosch, Brickworks, the Heritage Council of Victoria, Sussex, and Taubmans.

More award

See all
Balwyn Park Tennis and Community Facility by MGS Architects. 2020 Victorian Architecture Awards shortlist

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the shortlist for the 2020 Victorian Architecture Awards.

Queensland University of Technology, Peter Coaldrake Education Precinct by Wilson Architects and Henning Larsen Architects, Architects in Association Queensland Regional Architecture Awards 2020

The Queensland Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects announced the winners of its Regional Awards via a virtual ceremony on Friday 8 May.

John Wardle. 'Architect’s architect’ John Wardle wins 2020 Gold Medal

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced winners of the 2020 National Prizes via a live broadcast.

Balnarring Beach House, Mornington Peninsula,
Victoria (1997). 2020 National Prizes: Gold Medal

The Australian Institute of Architects 2020 Gold Medal is awarded to John Wardle.

Most read

Latest on site