Shortlist revealed: Arthur Boyd’s Riversdale expansion

Click to enlarge
The Boyd Education Centre at Riversdale designed by Glenn Murcutt, Wendy Lewin and Reg Lark.

The Boyd Education Centre at Riversdale designed by Glenn Murcutt, Wendy Lewin and Reg Lark. Image: Keith Saunders

1 of 2
The Riversdale site.

The Riversdale site. Image: Keith Saunders

2 of 2

The Bundanon Trust has revealed the six architecture practices shortlisted to design three new buildings at its Riversdale property in regional NSW, which includes the Arthur and Yvonne Boyd Education Centre designed by Australia’s only Pritzker Prize Laureate Glenn Murcutt, Wendy Lewin and Reg Lark.

In April 2016, the Bundanon Trust announced a $28.5 million expansion plan for Riversdale with a plans for a national design competition for the new buildings.

The new buildings include a new creative learning centre and Boyd Art Gallery, which will house more than 3,800 items, including 1,300 artworks by Arthur Boyd, as well as works by other Australian artists including Sidney Nolan, Charles Blackman, Brett Whiteley and John Perceval. The gallery will also exhibit contemporary artworks from the Bundanon Trust’s artist in residence program.

In addition, the shortlisted architects will compete to design a new accommodation wing with 32 double bedrooms and a dining facility for 64 people and a new cafe and catering facilities.

The shortlisted practices are:

  • Virginia Kerridge Architect
  • Kerstin Thompson Architects
  • Room 11
  • Peter Elliot Architecture + Urban Design
  • Jackson Clements Burrows Architects
  • Chenchow Little Architects

A winning architecture practice for all three buildings will be announced in December 2016.

On the jury are: John Denton (Denton Corker Marshall, chair), Shane Simpson (Bundanon Trust), professor Elizabeth Mossop (UTS) and Brian Zulaikha (Tonkin Zulaikha Greer Architects).

The new buildings will be part of the Bundanon Trust’s new masterplan for the Riversdale site, prepared by Tonkin Zulaikha Greer, which aims to double visitation numbers to the site.

Riversdale is one of four sites on a 1100-hectare property gifted to the Australian people by the late artist Arthur Boyd in 1993. The Bundanon Trust manages the sites on behalf of the Australian government.

The Boyd Education Centre was completed in 1999, the same year Boyd passed away. The building was described as “a masterwork” in Murcutt’s 2002 Pritzker Prize announcement.

Riversdale and the other three sites, Bundanon, Eearie Park and Beeweeree, were added to the Commonwealth Heritage List in 2015.

More news

Most read