Team Collaborative Future wins Zero Carbon Challenge

Click to enlarge
The north facade of Team Collaborative Future's winning scheme.

The north facade of Team Collaborative Future’s winning scheme.

1 of 2
The kitchen and entrance lobby of Team Collaborative Future's winning scheme.

The kitchen and entrance lobby of Team Collaborative Future’s winning scheme.

2 of 2

Team Collaborative Future is the winner of the Zero Carbon Challenge – Australia’s first zero-carbon sustainable house competition.

The challenge was run by the Urban Renewal Authority in partnership with the Integrated Design Commission SA (IDC). It is designed to challenge the development industry to aim for zero carbon emissions while offering a glimpse into the future of housing in South Australia by asking the competitors to design a zero-carbon home, considering key elements such as embodied energy, future emissions, liveability, affordability and adaptability.

When congratulating the winners, the South Australian Minister for Housing and Urban Development, Patrick Conlon, said, “The Zero Carbon Challenge is part of the South Australian Government’s commitment to building a sustainable future for South Australia, working with leading architects to design housing that suits South Australia’s climate and provides more comfortable and affordable living.”

“At a cost of around $335,000 (excluding GST), a 7.5-star rating, net zero operational energy and a sixteen-week construction time, the home that Team Collaborative Future has designed ticks a lot of boxes and is a worthy winner,” he said.

The designs of the four finalist teams were on display at the State Library of South Australia and visitors were able to vote for their favourite design for the People’s Choice Award. Team Collaborative Design also won this award. 

The winning team included Brett Aylen (TS4 Architecture), Paul Hendy (TS4 Architecture), Paul Davy (Cundall), Lewis Hewton (Cundall), Steven Sellers (Holdfast Construction Services), Tom Lauck (Eco Active), Tony Brewster (WT Partnership), Thomas Ha (MLEI), Nick Fewster (Urban Sustainable Landscapes), Matthew Hill (Brock Urban Projects), Tim Schaefer (Acdev), Ken Long (University of Adelaide), Pia Vogrin (eveSolutions), Becky Llewellyn (Disability Consultancy Services), Michael Meyer (Healthyhouse Consultancies), Stephen Pullen (University of South Australia), Sara Arefaine (University of South Australia), Mark Birch (University of Adelaide) and Corey Brown (University of Adelaide).

Team Collaborative Future will now get to build their scheme in Adelaide with the help of the Urban Renewal Authority and the Integrated Design Commission SA. Construction is expected to commence mid 2012 and the house to be complete by the end of 2012.

More news

Most read