Endorsed by

Winners revealed: 2017 Think Brick Awards

The winners of the 2017 Think Brick Awards, which celebrate excellence in the use of clay brick, concrete masonry and roof tiles by architects and designers, have been announced at a gala dinner at the Crown Palladium in Melbourne.

Awards are granted across five categories: the Horbury Hunt Commercial Award, the Horbury Hunt Residential Award, the Kevin Borland Masonry Award, the Bruce Mackenzie Landscape Award, and the Robin Dods Roof Tile Excellence Award.

Elizabeth McIntyre, CEO of Think Brick Australia and awards juror, said “This year we saw some impressive innovation in the use of brick, masonry and roof tiles that really pushed the boundaries of contemporary architecture.

“We saw design that was unexpectedly delightful and playful, design that displayed sophisticated reimagining of classical shapes, and also projects that redefined the concept of a simple brick building.”

McIntyre observed that brick is increasingly popular for interiors, “particularly as a way to unify indoor and outdoor spaces … We also saw more entries for multi-residential housing, reflecting the increase of apartment dwelling in our inner city areas, plus more use of concrete masonry in residential and commercial interiors.”

The jury comprised McIntyre, Ben Green (director, Tzannes), Debbie Ryan (founding owner, McBride Charles Ryan), Emma Williamson (director, Cox Architecture), Alexis and Murat Sanal (co-founders of SANALarc) and Cameron Bruhn (editorial director, Architecture Media).

The five winners each took home a $10,000 cash prize.

Horbury Hunt Residential Award

House Au Yeung by Tribe Studio Architects.

House Au Yeung by Tribe Studio Architects.

Image: Katherine Lu


House Au YeungTribe Studio Architects


Brickface – Austin Maynard Architects

Byron Bay House and Studio – Vokes and Peters

Elsternwick House – Clare Cousins Architects

Fish Creek HouseEdition Office

Ivanhoe HouseKUD

Barkers Road Townhouses by Kavellaris Urban Design.

Barkers Road Townhouses by Kavellaris Urban Design.

Image: Courtesy Think Brick

Horbury Hunt Commercial Award


Barkers Road Townhouse – Kavellaris Urban Design


Block Branding HQ – Bosske Architecture

Northlakes Vet Hospital – Vokes and Peters

Eve – DKO Architecture

Gympie Aquatic Recreation Centre – Liquid Blu

Perimeter House by Make Architecture.

Perimeter House by Make Architecture.

Image: Peter Bennetts

Kevin Borland Masonry Award


Perimeter House – MAKE Architecture


Inverdon HouseChloe Naughton

Mary’s Chapel, St Joseph’s College Geelong – Baldasso Cortese

Anna Meares VelodromeCox Architecture

Rail House – Clare Cousins Architects

Crescent House by Deicke Richards.

Crescent House by Deicke Richards.

Image: Rese Rose Gates

Bruce Mackenzie Landscape Award


Crescent House – Deicke Richards


The Bends Pool – Room 11 Architects

Macarthur Place – ASPECT Studios

Turruwul Park Fitness Hub – Jane Irwin Landscape Architecture

Sydney Park Water Re-use ProjectTurf Design Studio and Environmental Partnership

Kempsey Crescent Head Surf Life Saving Club by Neeson Murcutt Architects.

Kempsey Crescent Head Surf Life Saving Club by Neeson Murcutt Architects.

Image: Brett Boardman

Robin Dods Roof Tile Excellence Award


Kempsey Crescent Head Surf Life Saving ClubNeeson Murcutt Architects


Blackburn – Solar Solutions Design

Deepdene House – Kennedy Nolan

Mountain Hideaway – Frank Kosztelnik and Associates

Lana’s Forever Home – Three Birds Renovations

Related topics

More news

See all
Leagues Club Field, Gosford. NSW gov’t releases plans for new waterfront public space in Gosford

A “tidal terrace” forms the backbone of final designs for the transformation of a waterfront space in Gosford’s CBD into a new public park.

The Joynton Avenue Creative Precinct by Peter Stutchbury Architecture will host the awards presentation in November. Australian Institute of Architects expands NSW Prizes program

The NSW chapter has reorganized and expanded its awards program, which will now see the NSW Architecture Prizes awarded separately to the NSW Architecture Awards.

Built in 1869, St. Peter’s cathedral was designed by William Butterfield and Edward John Woods – the latter went on to found Woods Bagot with Walter Bagot. Woods Bagot marks 150 years of practice

One of Australia’s oldest and largest architecture practices has celebrated its 150th anniversary.

Bondi Apartment by Ricci Bloh Architecture and Interiors. Australia’s best architectural kitchens celebrated in 2020 Smeg Tour competition shortlist

The shortlist for the 2020 Smeg Tour competiton, which rewards outstanding architectural kitchen design, has been announced.

Most read

Latest on site