Winners revealed: 2017 Australian Interior Design Awards

Ambition, bravery and experiential design were the hallmarks of the winning projects in the 2017 Australian Interior Design Awards.

“These projects brilliantly evoke, provoke and challenge, allowing everybody to have an opinion about the plan, furniture selection or functionality of space,” said the jury. The projects pushed boundaries with one project demonstrating “high-end application of a low-tech material,” while others expressed “dynamic symplicity” and “exquisite craftsmanship.”

More than 500 interior designers and architects gathered together for the awards announcement and celebration dinner. The awards have been recognizing excellence in Australian interior design innovation for 14 years, through a unique collaboration between founding partners the Design Institute of Australia and Artichoke magazine.

The awards program celebrates interior design excellence across seven primary categories: Retail Design, Hospitality Design, Workplace Design, Public Design, Installation Design, Residential Design and Residential Decoration.

On the 2017 jury for the Awards for Australian Interior Design were Sonda Banney (Architectus), Elizabeth Carpenter (FJMT Studio), Amanda Stanaway (Woods Bagot), Mark Simpson (DesignOffice), Nick Travers (Techne Architecture + Interior Design), Tony Chenchow (Chenchow Little), Sophia Leopardi (Williams Burton Leopardi) and Fiona Lynch (Fiona Lynch), with jury convenor Joanne Cys (University of South Australia).

The awards presentation on Friday 9 June at the Glasshouse in Melbourne also included the announcement of the winners of the Premier Award for Australian Interior Design, Sustainability Advancement Award, Best of State Awards for Commercial Design and Residential Design, the Emerging Interior Design Practice Award, Best International Design and the Award for Interior Design Impact.

The jury for the Award for Interior Design Impact comprised Geraldine Maher (Jackson Interiors), Roger Poole (Roger Poole Architects), Sue Wittenoom (The Soft Build) and the late Madeline Lester (Madeline Lester and Associates).

The winners of the 2017 Australian Interior Design Awards are:

Premier Award for Australian Interior Design
Indigo SlamSmart Design Studio

Award for Interior Design Impact
Paramount by The Office Space Woods Bagot
First PeoplesMuseums Victoria Design Studio

Sustainability Advancement Award
UQ Oral Health CentreCox Architecture

Retail Design
Jac and JackGeorge Livissianis

Hospitality Design
Higher GroundDesign Office

Public Design
Studio FivePTID

Workplace Design
The EDG ForumArcher Office

Frasers Property Australia Head Office – BVN

Installation Design
Egyptian MummiesStudioplusthree

Residential Decoration
A Private ResidenceSJB

Residential Design
Indigo SlamSmart Design Studio

Emerging Interior Design Practice
Brad Swartz Architects

Best of State
Commercial Design and Residential Design

See the commended projects here.

View all the winners and commendations on the Australian Interior Design Awards website.

The Australian Interior Design Awards thanks its sponsors: Dulux Australia, Business Interiors, Forbo Flooring Systems, Smeg, The Laminex Group, Space Furniture and Bespoke Careers, with Denfair as jury host.

Related topics

More award

See all
Balwyn Park Tennis and Community Facility by MGS Architects. 2020 Victorian Architecture Awards shortlist

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the shortlist for the 2020 Victorian Architecture Awards.

Queensland University of Technology, Peter Coaldrake Education Precinct by Wilson Architects and Henning Larsen Architects, Architects in Association Queensland Regional Architecture Awards 2020

The Queensland Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects announced the winners of its Regional Awards via a virtual ceremony on Friday 8 May.

John Wardle. 'Architect’s architect’ John Wardle wins 2020 Gold Medal

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced winners of the 2020 National Prizes via a live broadcast.

Balnarring Beach House, Mornington Peninsula,
Victoria (1997). 2020 National Prizes: Gold Medal

The Australian Institute of Architects 2020 Gold Medal is awarded to John Wardle.

Most read

Latest on site