Winners revealed: 2018 Eat Drink Design Awards

Simplicity and essentialism” were the stand out hallmarks of the 2018 Eat Drink Design Awards, which were announced at a ceremony in Melbourne on 13 November.

In 2018, a new category, Best Hotel Design, was added to the existing six categories: Best Bar Design, Best Restaurant Design, Best Cafe Design, Best Installation Design, Best Retail Design and Best Identity Design.

A jury that combined expertise and experience of the design and hospitality communities selected the winners from 156 entries across Australia and New Zealand. The winners from each award category received a cash prize of $1,500.

“The jury brought varied experience, expertise and opinion to the mix and some wins were decided by tight votes. However, there was consensus about what we were looking for: authenticity, clarity and a sense that venues were fit for purpose,” said the jury.

The jury also selected one iconic hospitality venue from Australia or New Zealand to enter the Eat Drink Design Awards Hall of Fame. Venues considered for this accolade have achieved a level of cultural significance as well as demonstrating longevity in an industry often categorized as transient.

2018 Eat Drink Design Awards

Best Bar Design

Best Restaurant Design

Best Cafe Design

Best Installation Design

Best Retail Design

Best Hotel Design

Best Identity Design

Hall of Fame

High commendations

The 2018 jury comprise Simon Kardachi (restaurateur), George Livissianis (founder, George Livissianis), Fabio Ongarato (founder, Studio Ongarato), Dani Valent (food writer and cook), and Cassie Hansen (editor, Artichoke magazine).

Winners, commended projects and the shortlist are all featured in Artichoke 65, along with a full jury overview. View all the entries and more images at the Eat Drink Design Awards gallery.

The 2018 Eat Drink Design Awards are organized by Architecture Media and supported by major partner Shadowfax Wines; supporting partners Euro Cave, Laminex, Latitude, Ownworld, Planned Cover, Roca, Schiavello, Tait; and event partners Four Pillars, Sample and San Pellegrino.

The Eat Drink Design Awards are endorsed by the Australian Institute of Architects and the Design Institute of Australia.

More award

See all
Balwyn Park Tennis and Community Facility by MGS Architects. 2020 Victorian Architecture Awards shortlist

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the shortlist for the 2020 Victorian Architecture Awards.

Queensland University of Technology, Peter Coaldrake Education Precinct by Wilson Architects and Henning Larsen Architects, Architects in Association Queensland Regional Architecture Awards 2020

The Queensland Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects announced the winners of its Regional Awards via a virtual ceremony on Friday 8 May.

John Wardle. 'Architect’s architect’ John Wardle wins 2020 Gold Medal

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced winners of the 2020 National Prizes via a live broadcast.

Balnarring Beach House, Mornington Peninsula,
Victoria (1997). 2020 National Prizes: Gold Medal

The Australian Institute of Architects 2020 Gold Medal is awarded to John Wardle.

Most read

Latest on site