Endorsed by

2019 Australian Urban Design Awards

The 2019 Australian Urban Design Awards will be presented to winning entrants on 30 October in Melbourne.

Entries to the awards are now open and are set to close on 12 July.

The awards are developed from the Australia Award for Urban Design, which was created by former prime minister Paul Keating’s Urban Task Force in 1996. Awards patrons are former Prime Minister of Australia, Malcolm Turnbull and Lucy Turnbull AO, Chief Commissioner of the Greater Sydney Commission.

The program recognizes contemporary Australian urban design projects of the highest quality and aims to encourage cities, towns and communities across the country to strive for best practice in all projects. Entries are open to both built projects and design concepts and plans.

The Australian Urban Design Awards are broad in scope and attract entries for initiatives, built projects and publications.

The 2019 award categories are: Built projects – city and regional scale; Built projects – local and neighbourhood scale; Leadership, advocacy and research – city and regional scale; and Leadership, advocacy and research – local and neighbourhood scale.

The Australian Urban Design Awards are organized by Architecture Media and convened by the Planning Institute of Australia, Australian Institute of Architects and the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects.

The awards are supported by supporting partners the Queensland Government, Tait and Holcim.

For further information, head here.


Melbourne,  Vic,  3000,  Australia
Send Email

More award

See all
Ishizuka by Russell and George, winner of the 2018 award for Best Restaurant Design. 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards

The 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards will be presented in Melbourne on 12 November.

Chris Fox, Interloop, installation view, Wynyard Station (2017). National Trust Heritage Awards

The National Trust Heritage Awards are the signature event of the Australian Heritage Festival and are now in their 25th year of recognising heritage projects.

Space and Time by Russell and George, winner of the Premier Award for Australian Interior Design in 2018. Australian Interior Design Awards 2019

The prestigious Australian Interior Design Awards will be presented at a gala banquet at the Forum Melbourne on 31 May.

Cabbage Tree House by Peter Stutchbury Architecture. Houses Awards

The Houses Awards are an annual program celebrating Australia’s best residential projects.

Most read

Latest on site