Australian Interior Design Awards

The prestigious Australian Interior Design Awards will be presented at an online event on 29 May. Normally a gala dinner, this year will be a little different due to coronavirus restriction. The announcements will be made online with participants invited to share the celebrations and toast the winners from the comfort of their own homes.

The awards encompass projects across retail, hospitality, workplace, public, installation and residential design categories, as well as residential decoration and emerging interior design practice.

Projects are also considered for the Best of State awards and the Sustainability Advancement award. The top project is awarded the Premier Award for Australian Interior Design, and the Award for Interior Design Impact acknowledges the significant influence of interior design on the business, social, human resource, environmental and/or cultural outcomes of a project.

Deciding on the winners will be a panel of eight of Australia’s most prominent architects and interior designers, with interior designer Geraldine Maher as jury convener. The Australian Interior Design Awards is a partnership event of the Design Institute of Australia and Artichoke magazine and is supported by Dulux, Signorino, Elton Group, Space Furniture, Sub-Zero and Wolf, Laminex, Novas and Oblica with Denfair as jury host.

Find the winners of the 2019 Awards here.

For more information, go here.

Article updated April 2020.

Event details
Friday, 29 May 2020 Past event
Online event
Related topics

More awards

See all
Speed_Space: Architecture, Landscape and Perceptual Horizons by Stephen Neille (Honourable Mention, 2008 AA Prize for Unbuilt Work). Entries open: AA Prize for Unbuilt Work

The AA Prize for Unbuilt Work seeks conceptually rigorous, inventive responses to contemporary architectural issues.

Di Stasio Citta, winner Best Restaurant Design 2019. 2020 Eat Drink Design Awards

The 2020 Eat Drink Design Awards will be announced on 29 October.

22 Temenggong Road, Twilight, 2018, designed by Justin Hill, being produced at the ATW in Melbourne. Australian Tapestry Workshop: Bailleu Myer and Sarah Myer Trainee Weaver scholarships

The Australian Tapestry Design Workshop is offering two scholarships to train two artists in tapestry weaving.

Daylesford Longhouse by Partners Hill. Houses Awards Presentation

The Houses Awards are an annual program celebrating Australia’s best residential projects.

Most read

Latest on site