Endorsed by

National Trust Heritage Awards

Entries are open for the National Trust Heritage Awards, the signature event of the 2019 Australian Heritage Festival.

The winners will be announced on 10 May and will be accompanied by a keynote speech from Philip Thalis, principal of Hill Thalis and City of Sydney councillor.

The winner of the top prize in 2018 was Interloop, a sculpture at Sydney’s Wynyard Station that involved the repurposing of four ageing wooden escalators as a twisting installation.

The escalators were among the last wooden escalators still in service in the world. When the decision was made to remove them as part of the Cox Architecture-designed renewal of the station, they were retained and reworked into the ceiling-mounted sculpture by Sydney artist and sculptor Chris Fox.

Among the other winners was the adaptive reuse of Goonoo Goonoo Station by TKD Architects, which involved the sandwiching of a glass structure between a 19th Century century wool store and a 1950s shearing shed on a property in Tamworth.

Entries close on 31 March.

For more information, go here.


Sydney,  NSW,  Australia
Related topics

More award

See all
Space and Time by Russell and George, winner of the Premier Award for Australian Interior Design in 2018. Australian Interior Design Awards 2019

The prestigious Australian Interior Design Awards will be presented at a gala banquet at the Forum Melbourne on 31 May.

Cabbage Tree House by Peter Stutchbury Architecture. Houses Awards

The Houses Awards are an annual program celebrating Australia’s best residential projects.

Space and Time by Russell and George, winner of the Premier Award for Australian Interior Design at the 2018 Australian Interior Design Awards. Entries open: 2019 Australian Interior Design Awards

Entries are now open for the 2018 Australian Interior Design Awards, with submissions closing on 15 February.

The Manor, Basket Range. SA/NT Design Awards

The Design Institute of Australia will celebrate the year in South Australian and Northern Territory Design at the 2018 SA/NT Design Awards.

Most read

Latest on site