Endorsed by

2014 National Landscape Architecture Award: Research & Communication

2014 National Award for Research & Communication Lake Pedder – From Inundation to Restoration Corkery Consulting

Jury comment

In 1972, the pristine Lake Pedder and its beautiful beach were flooded, despite international condemnation, to create a massive dam for the Tasmanian hydro-electric scheme. It was a hugely significant event in the history of environmental activism in Australia. In recent years, however, the demand for hydro-electric power has dropped such that it has now become feasible to restore the lake. Initial attempts by the Lake Pedder Restoration Committee (LPRC) to explain the complex process were hindered by a lack of simple and clear illustrations.

Corkery Consulting was engaged to produce a slide presentation but, using its advanced graphic skills, the firm was able to work with the LPRC to produce Lake Pedder: From Inundation to Restoration – an animated visualization that shows the history of the damming and the potential methodology for this to be reversed. The landscape architects have succeeded admirably in their task of illustrating the balance that can be achieved between environmental, social and economic values.

Related topics

More award

See all
Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the 2019 National Prizes at the National Architecture Conference in Melbourne.

Gen–Y House, part of White Gum Valley in Perth. The project, designed by David Barr Architects, is one of the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living’s sixteen Living Labs. 2019 National Prizes: Leadership in Sustainability Prize

The 2019 Leadership in Sustainability Prize is awarded to the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living.

Professor Helen Lochhead. 2019 National Prizes: Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize

The 2019 Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize is awarded to Helen Lochhead.

Sobi Slingsby. 2019 National Prizes: BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize

Sobi Slingsby is awarded the BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize.

Most read

Latest on site